Emily Barletta

Emily Barletta
Brooklyn, NY
Scabs
My artwork explores ideas of emotional and physical memory and survival. For most of my life I have been in physical pain due to a spinal deformity.  Making art started out as a way to express this and filter the pain’s affects out of myself, but it has evolved into much more than just that. Each object is a physical container that counts and records the passage of time in my life while it was being made.  The thoughts, emotions, and experiences I have during this time are funneled through my preoccupation with inventing imaginary forms of flesh, blood, muscles, cells, organs, molds, diseases, plants, and topography.  These ideas grow into structures instilled with this specific memory and time.

p1124827

Scabs

Installation size: 64″ x 24″

Bag size: 3″ x 5″ (36 bags total)

scab1

scab2

~ by karinrebekah on February 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
