Lucia LaVilla-Havelin

Lucia LaVilla-Havelin
Lytle,TX
LANDFORMS

Crater
Masai Settlement
Salt Marsh
Volcanic Lake

My inspiration comes from nature and science. I find in the structures and patterns of living things, a beauty and complexity that is an endless source for creativity.  Researching landscape images, I found amazing aerial photographs from Africa, LANDFORMS is an attempt to capture some of the rich color, texture and depth of this land.  I chose to stitch a crater, a Masai settlement, a salt marsh and a volcanic lake.  Each of these images presented challenges.  Using subtle juxtaposed color changes and beading, I achieved the effect I sought.  My work celebrates science and nature and reminds us that we are stewards of this world, and all the living creatures in it.

lucia_lavhav_landforms

Land Forms

12″ x 16″ each

~ by karinrebekah on January 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
