Kristy Roberts

Kristie Roberts

Brooklyn, NY

Clementine

Baci Fresh
On our refrigerator there is a collection of fruit stickers peeled off of years of fruit and adhered to magnets. I have enjoyed looking at each one and admiring them as tiny pieces of art. Often I wondered how I could pay tribute to these miniature works and decided to do an embroidery of one, which later became more as the amount of stickers I wanted to reproduce increased. Enlarging the scale and matching the colors, I am keeping as true to the original as much as I can. The detail of the stitches and time put into each one reminds me of the swiftness in which stickers are easily pulled off and discarded. This project is a reminder of slowing down and focusing on the details.

kristyroberts_clementine

Clementine

kristyroberts_bacifresh

Baci Fresh

~ by karinrebekah on January 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
